LIMITATIONS ON E-BIKES
& MOTORIZED VEHICLES

2024



E-BIKE CATEGORIES

* Class 1: Bicycle equipped with a motor providing assistance only
when the rider is pedaling that ceases to provide assistance when the
electric bicycle reaches 20 mph.

» Class 2: Bicycle equipped with a pedal-assisted & throttle-actuated
motor that ceases to provide assistance when the electric bicycle
reaches 20 mph.

* Class 3: Bicycle equipped with a motor providing assistance only
when the rider is pedaling that ceases to provide assistance when the
electric bicycle reaches 28 mph.



Electric Bicycles Electric Scooters Electric OHV Motorcycles

Defining Features
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OTHER ELECTRIC VEHICLES

1. Electric Scoofters:

» Electric motor not exceeding 2000W

* Throttle

* Braking system

* Handlebars and deck for standing or
handlebars and seat

* Two wheels in contact with the ground.

* Max speeds up to 20 mph on paved, level
surface

» Design for ability to be propelled by human
power alone but human effort not required.



ELECTRIC VEHICLES CON'T

2. Electric OHV Motorcycles:

 Throttle

» Foot Pegs

* Motor sizes and speeds vary. Speeds 40-50 mph

* Riders required to wear certified helmets and
complete education course.

* Only allowed on OHYV frails and where OHV
vehicles are permitted. Max speed frails 15
mph.

* Not permitted on roads, paved trails, natural
surface ftrails, bike lanes, or sidewalks.

» Utah DNR allows under 18 if adult supervision.



ELECTRIC VEHICLES CON'T

3. Electric Personal Assistive Mobillity Device:

* two hontandem wheels in contact with the
ground

« capacity fo steer and stop

* electric propulsion system with average
power of 1 hp or 750 watts

* maximum speed capacity of 12.5 mph

- deck design.

» does not include a wheelchair.



ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE
MOBILITY DEVICE (EPAMD)




IS IT AN E-LBIKE?

IS THE MOTOR 750 WATTS OR LESS?
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WHERE CAN YOU RIDE?
Always check regulations as rules can change betweaen local, state, and federal agencies.
LOCAL: Consult your lecal land management agency. Class 1 E-bikes are
most likely to be allowed on non-motorized trails.

STATE: Utah State Parks allows E-bikes on non-motorized trails
open for bikes.

FEDERAL.: On federal lands, E-bikes are considered motorized
vehicles and have access to motorized trails.




USE ON PUBLIC PROPERTY
(UCA 41-6A-1115.5)

1.No one under 8 may operate an e-bike with the
motor engaged on any public property, road,

oath or sidewalk.

2.No one under 14 may operate an e-bike with

the motor engaged on any public property,
road, path or sidewalk unless a guardian is
present (“under the direct supervision of the
individual’s parent or guardian™).

3.No one under 16 may operate a class 3 e-bike.

4.No owner of an e-bike may “authorize or
knowingly permit an individual to operate an
electric assisted bicycle in violation of law".




HEADGEAR/HELMETS (UCA 41-6A-1505)

1. No one under 21 may operate or ride any of the
following without protective headgear:

(a) a motorcycle;

(b)a motor-driven cycle;*

(c)a class 3 electric assisted bicycle; or
(d)an autocycle that is not fully enclosed.

*A Motor-driven cycle is defined (41-6a-102 Definitions) as @
motorcycle, moped, and a motorized bicycle having an engine with
less than 150 cubic centimeters displacement or a motor that
produces not more than 5 horsepower. It does not include an electric
personal assistive mobility device, motor assisted scooter, or an electric
assisted bicycle.



ELECTRIC SCOOTERS (UCA 41-6A-1115)

(1) (a) Except as otherwise provided in this section, a motor assisted
scooter is subject to the provisions under this chapter for a bicycle.

(2) A person under 8 years may not operate a motor assisted scooter
with the motor running on any public property, highway, path, or
sidewalk.

(3) A person may not operate a motor assisted scooter:

(a)In a public parking structure;

(b)On public property posted as an area prohibiting bicycles;

(c)While carrying more persons at one time than the number for which
it is designed,;

(d)That has been structurally or mechanically altered from the original
manufacturer’'s design, except for an alteration by, or done at the
request of, a person who rents the motor assisted scooter to lower
the maximum speed for the motor assisted scooter; or

(e)At a speed of greater than 15 miles per hour or in violation of
Subsection 41-6a-1115.1(3)




ELECTRIC PERSONAL ASSISTIVE
MOBILITY DEVICE (41-6A-1116).

» Subject to provisions governing bicycles,
mopeds and/or motor-driven cycles.

* Person under 15 may not operate using
motor unless under “the direct supervision of
the person’s parent or guardian”.



OFF HIGHWAY ELECTRIC VEHICLES
(OHVS) (41-22-10, ET SEQ)

 Electric OHV Motorcycles (e.g., electric dirt bikes,
Surrons, etc.) are considered off-highway vehicles.

 Electric OHV vehicles are only permitted where OHV
vehicles are permitted. They generally may not be
operated on any street or highway unless such sireet
or highway is specifically designated as open to OHVs
(41-22-10.3).

 All riders of electric OHV motorcycles under the age
of 18 must wear a helmet (41-22-10.8).



NATIONAL PARK SERVICE

e Regulations at 36 CFR 4.30 govern use of
bicycles on National Park Service lands. The
Regulations allow park superintfendents to
restrict bicycle use when necessary.

o Considerations: “the park area’s natural,
scenic and aesthetic values, safety
considerations and management
objectives”, whether use will “disturto wildlife
or park resources’.



LOCAL REGULATION

- Utah Code 41-6a-1115.5 Electric assisted bicycles provides:

* (3)(a) A local authority or state agency may adopt an
ordinance or rule to regulate or restrict the use of an elecftric
assisted bicycle, or a specific classification of an electric assisted
bicycle, on a sidewalk, path, or trail within the jurisdiction of the
local authority or state agency. (emphasis added)

« (b) When enacting ordinances or making rules related to the
use of a pathway or soft-surface frail, and during the planning or
construction of a pathway or soft-surface ftrail, a local authority or
state agency shall consider accommodations and increased frail
access by a person with a motor disability.



PARK CITY
(AMENDMENT 10-1-4.5 NON-MOTORIZED
TRAIL USE

« Permits e-bikes on all Multi-Use Pathways (paved
pathways no less than 8’ in width) but limited speed to
15 mph.

» Prohibiting e-bikes on Natural Surface Trails and
sidewalks EXCEPT class 1 e-bikes operated by persons
cle[atles @ikelelE]

* Permitting operation of power driven mobility device on
any multi-use pathway, natural surface trail, or sidewalk.

» Paths, trails, and roads designated for specific purposes
(such as an equestrian trail, bicycle path, or other use)
may only be used for the designated purposes.



DEFINITIONS

- Adopt Definitions consistent with state law (U.C.A.
41-6a-Part 11)

* “Multi-Use Pathway” means a public way or path no
less than six (6') feet in width that has a surface of
concrete or asphalt and is separated from the
roadway by an open space, a curb or other barrier.

» “Natural Surface Trail” means a public way or route
with a surface other than concrete or asphalt, which
serves the primary purpose of passive recreational
use, such as hiking, mountain biking, snowshoeing,
Cross-country sking and equestrian activities.



DEFINITIONS

« “"Power Driven Mobility Device” means any mobility device
powered by batteries, fuel, or other engines, that is used by
individuals with mobility disabillities for the purpose of locomotion,
including electric personal assistive mobility devices, electric-
assisted bicycles, electric-powered foot scooters, tracked
mobility chairs or tricycles that are designed to transport a single
individual with a disability.

« Motorized Vehicle” shall include, but not be limited to, motor
driven cycles, motorcycles, mini motorcycles, motor bikes,
snowmobiles, all-terrain vehicles, off highway vehicles, low speed
motorized vehicles, mopeds, electric assisted bicycles, electric
assisted scooters, electric off highway motorcycles, motorized
skateboards, and electric personal assistive mobility devices.



REGULATIONS

» Prohibitions: No motorized vehicles except
electric assisted bicycles, electric assisted
scooters, motorized skateboards, electric
personal assistive devices, and power driven
mobility devices are allowed on Midway City
trails, paths and sidewalks. Motorized vehicles
may be operated on Midway City roads only if
they are otherwise authorized under state law
or this Chapter.

- Helmets: No person under the age of 18 years
shall operate within the City of Midway a
motorized vehicle without wearing protective
headgear.



REGULATIONS

Licensing:

* No person shall operate a motorized
vehicle with the motor engaged on
roads in the City of Midway unless the
operator has a valid drivers’ licensee¢

» on roads with posted speed limit
exceeding 25 mph<

 Jurisdiction®@



REGULATIONS

» Stay Off Grass: Persons operating motorized vehicles in
the City of Midway shall stay off the grass in public parks
and on public property.

» Speed and Passenger Limits: Persons may not operate
motorized vehicles in the City of Midway on public
property (a) in areas posted as prohibiting such use; (b)
while carrying more persons at one time than the number
for which the vehicle was designed or equipped by the
manufacturer; or (c) at a speed of greater than 15 mph.

* No parent or guardian of a minor shall authorize or
knowingly permit the minor to violate the provisions of this
Chapter.



PENALTIES & ENFORCEMENT

* Any person violating the provisions of the Chapter shall
be guilty of an infraction. Midway City, and any police
department servicing Midway City, shall have authority to
iInvestigate violations and issue citations.

« Warnings?

* Impound?



